Printing to paperbins

Knowledge exchange related to the VPE Report Engine and PDF Library

Moderator: IDEAL Software Support

Printing to paperbins

Postby nc1264 » Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:22 pm

I want to print to a specific paperbin of a Ricoh printer and I therefor do the following (in test):
Code: Select all
onzin = NEWOBJECT("vpecontrol.vpecontrol.35")
IF onzin.isopen
   onzin.closedoc
ENDIF
onzin.opendoc
#include "vpe35.h"
onzin.writeboxrtf(40,40,1000,vfree, 'This is a test to see which paperbin is used when printing')
onzin.device = "LocalRICOHAficioMPC4500PCL6"
onzin.paperbin ="2"
onzin.CAPTION = 'TEST_DOCUMENT_' + STRTRAN(TIME(), ':', '')
onzin.devjobname = onzin.CAPTION
onzin.PrintDoc(.f.)


The printqueue has been locally defined. The job is created but how can I see which paperbin has actually been used. Using "2" or 2 does not result in an error. The printer has 4 paperbins.
I have done the devEnumPaperBins() so I know that the number 2 actually exists. How can I check the document properties (in the print queue) to see which paperbin will be used.
nc1264
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 8:18 am

Postby IDEAL Software Support » Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:50 pm

To be honest, I don't understand your question.

You can not access the print queue (do you mean the print spooler?) using VPE. Is this what you mean?

Regards
Thorsten Radde
IDEAL Software GmbH
IDEAL Software Support
 
Posts: 1622
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 4:03 pm

Print queue

Postby nc1264 » Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:42 pm

My apologies for the confusion.
The pc has several print queue's. By using this:
onzin.device = "LocalRICOHAficioMPC4500PCL6"
I ensure that this printqueue is used.

By using the devEnumPaperBins() I have checked the paperbins that the printer has available.

When now using onzin.paperbin ="2" I would expect that this bin would be used. It isn't so. Am I doing this wrong? How can I force the printjob to go to a specific paperbin?

Thanks in advance.
nc1264
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 8:18 am

Postby IDEAL Software Support » Tue Jan 09, 2007 4:06 pm

See PrintOptions the flag PRINT_NO_AUTO_PAGE_DIMS.

By default VPE overrides the settings for a paper bin by instructing the printer to select an input paper bin according to the dimensions of the current page.

By setting VPE.PrintOptions = PRINT_ALL + PRINT_NO_AUTO_PAGE_DIMS

you turn this default behaviour off. Afterwards your code should work.

Regards
Thorsten Radde
IDEAL Software GmbH
IDEAL Software Support
 
Posts: 1622
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 4:03 pm


Return to VPE Open Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 102 guests