PrintDoc vs Device

Knowledge exchange related to the VPE Report Engine and PDF Library

Moderator: IDEAL Software Support

PrintDoc vs Device

Postby cdid » Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:36 pm

Is it possible to print on a Network Printer without installing it on the client machine???

I want to do it with no preview...

I have a Print server and a shared printer on it but not linked on my client machine

In dos I can do:

print /D:\\192.168.1.101\myprinter c:\test.txt

Thanks
cdid
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby IDEAL Software Support » Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:48 pm

In DOS using the print command, you send plain characters via network to the printer. In Windows, you create a print job by executing commands of the GDI (Graphics Device Interface). The GDI translates the calls into calls for device drivers (screen, printers, etc.). Therefore the answer to your question is: no, you need a device driver installed on your client.

Regards
Thorsten Radde
IDEAL Software GmbH
IDEAL Software Support
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 4:03 pm

Tif

Postby cdid » Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:09 pm

print with a .tif doesn't work...

is there a win exec to start printing a document with printer parameters?
cdid
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:19 pm

???

Postby cdid » Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:15 pm

Is there a way to print direct on a network printer without a client Installation??
cdid
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby IDEAL Software Support » Tue Jul 18, 2006 7:19 am

Your questions are off-topic regarding VPE. But maybe someone else may want to answer your questions.

Regards
T. Radde
IDEAL Software GmbH
IDEAL Software Support
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 4:03 pm

Button

Postby cdid » Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:32 pm

How to Add a new button in the toolbar
can you help me?
cdid
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby IDEAL Software Support » Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:47 pm

Search this forum for "toolbar", the topic "Customizing the toolbar, adding user-defined buttons" is what you are looking for.

Regards
Thorsten Radde
IDEAL Software GmbH
IDEAL Software Support
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 4:03 pm

Printing

Postby cdid » Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:08 pm

I want the preview
But when the user click on the print button, I dont want the setup dialog window

How can I do it?

I want an automatic printing on my printer device
VpeCtrl.device = '\\...my printer'

Thanks


Is it possible to replace the print function of the print button by
My function with Device and PrintDoc(FALSE);
cdid
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby IDEAL Software Support » Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:45 pm

See the RequestPrint-event.

In the event handler return PRINT_ACTION_ABORT. Afterwards you can select the device, change any Device Control Properties and then call PrintDoc(False).

Regards
Thorsten Radde
IDEAL Software GmbH
IDEAL Software Support
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 4:03 pm

Printing

Postby cdid » Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:51 pm

Can you give me an exemple in javascript please?
cdid
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby IDEAL Software Support » Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:12 pm

It is shipped with VPE, see the directoy "internet" in the installation directory of VPE. The code demonstrates how to catch an event sent by VPE.

Code: Select all
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE=JavaScript FOR=VpeControl EVENT="RequestPrint(nAction, bCancel)">
   if (nAction == PRINT_MSG_END)
   {
      alert("User has printed the document.\nMoving now to final web page.");
      document.URL = "final.htm";
   }
</SCRIPT>


Regards
Thorsten Radde
IDEAL Software GmbH
IDEAL Software Support
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 4:03 pm


Return to VPE Open Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 78 guests